Joopen's Happy Life

Check Out the Happieness

Deadlines March 5, 2008

Filed under: work — joopen @ 9:08 pm
Tags: , ,

Deadlines

In many occupations there are deadlines. Throughout life people scramble to meet all sorts of deadlines. Why is it that at my job there is no set deadline on important things? Why can’t we set a time limit? Get your orders in before 3pm or they wait for another day. Sounds perfectly fair to me. Sales can turn something in and expect it to be finished and running within minuets! This causes everything to come to a crashing halt. My co-workers and/or I must immediately stop what we’re doing and work on that exact thing. What happens when more than one order is IMMEDIATE? One of them suffers over the other. Also even if it doesn’t have to be done right away but must be done by the next day, it should still meet the 3pm deadline. 00Otherwise we end up staying late trying to get everything done. Sales people don’t see the problem… their days end when they want them to and no later. However when they turn an order in at 4:50pm they may be done with their job by 5pm but that means I’ve gotta push my work back later as well. Tonight I got 3 orders at 4:45. And then later in the evening while I’m doing more important things a sales person comes in to complete a MOCK order. To email to a client so they can get an idea of what it would be like. So I’ve gotta stop my work to work on fake stuff?

Deadlines 2

Honestly people deadlines are a wonderful thing.

 

3 Responses to “Deadlines”

  1. Matt Says:

    Hey, guess what! I got another sponsor THIS AFTERNOON to add to the promotion that started THIS MORNING! Shocking.

    BTW…yay! I’m the first person to comment on your blog!

  2. Mary Douglas Says:

    Joopen, I love your picture above (the woman pointing to the clock). I would like to use it in our e-newsletter (that goes out tomorrow, I know, late notice). Can you tell me where you got it, and if I can use it, also? Thanks!

  3. joopen Says:

    Feel free to use it I believe I found it on Google images.


Leave a Reply

