Joopen's Happy Life

Check Out the Happieness

Insight or in sight? June 25, 2008

Filed under: Random — joopen @ 2:56 pm
Tags: ,

So I had a little insight into my own head this morning. I started reading this book on a whim not thinking I’d get anything from it but it’d give me something to read. I opened the book for the first time while sitting in the laundry mat this morning. As I was reading I became more and more interested.

It’s call “Pitch Like A Girl” how a woman can be herself and still succeed. I checked it out from the library because they didn’t have the book I really wanted “Well Behaved Women Seldom Make History”. Anyway the book is not what I thought it would be. I’m not very far into it but so far I am inspired and I came across something that triggered something in my head and explained a few things. This is when I need a book club!

Lichtenberg is explaining why women tend to hold back when it comes to boasting or even having any self confidence. TADA!! here is one of my main flaws… SELF CONFIDENCE! She writes “Self-promotion feels like a guy thing. Women have been taught from birth about modesty, nurturing, and putting needs of others first.” She goes on to say “We believe that if we work hard and are good at what we do we should be recognized and rewarded without having to beat our own drum, toot our own horn, or play any other instrument in a self-promotional band.” now I know what you’re thinking… the first few min. of reading this book I felt like she was telling women to “sell themselves” but its not quite to that extreme. I think its mainly about having enough confidence in yourself to achieve what you want. I’ve struggled with my lack of self-esteem and self-confidence for years and feel like its one of my biggest obstacles. Maybe I really should read this book, maybe it’ll help me gain the confidence that I lack. Or at least give me some additional insight on why I struggle with this. Will this book contain “insight” into my brain or will it bring my flaws/problems “in sight”?

 

Leave a Reply

